Page 2 of 3

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: April 7th, 2010, 2:13 pm
by LucaGiorgi
Of course I can confirm and I also believe it was very well realised.

Please find the picture attached hereinafter.

IMG00039-20091028-1940.jpg


Luca

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 25th, 2010, 7:39 pm
by MAntos
Hello, I have some problems by conecting Rs485. Powersoft distributors said me that for armonia program I need to set up new software in AMPs. They rewrited software, and after that I have non working Preset cards (Amp's Dont read presets card anymore) wich I used for saving presets. And future more after wthis operation Rs485 doesnt wort :D
Whats wrong? Maybe they seted not right software version ? How to check that?

By the way-> Is it right conection sheme?
Image

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 26th, 2010, 9:14 am
by tiziano
Altough the USB-485 converter is not our reccommended type, the connections seems to be right.

I see from the previous picture that amplifiers are branded Martin Audio: which firmware version did you load on them?

Please check if Armonia is configured to use the correct COM port (Armonia top-left button -> options -> Serial port). To see what COM port has been assigned to your USB->485 converter, go to windows System->properties->hardware->device manager->COM and LPT ports and try to find what COM port is added/removed when you connect/disconnect the adapter to the USB port of your PC.

For getting access to your preset cards you should: use an amplifier with the previous FW version (from 3.13.2 to 3.13.9), connect to it with the old software MAControlManager, for each preset on smartcard, load it on the amp and save it to a file. Those .pam files can be imported into Armonia and converted to new presets.

Let's keep in touch for any news/questions.

Bye
Tiziano

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 26th, 2010, 4:15 pm
by MAntos
We bought few AMPs to try. 2xK3 DSP; 2xK6 DSP;
S/N: k3 30001 30002; k6 23213 22926.
I found some informacion on AMP's after software update:
KFRNT:4.0.2-87
KCTRL:4.0.2-87
KDSP:4.0.2- 2000
KAESOP: N/A
Version: 3.26.3

Is that is right wersion for this AMP's ?

COM port is working and setted right. I event tested my USB/rs485 with sending DMX signal and moving 4 units of Martin MX-10 scaners (lighting) :)

And I even try to set teminator (resitor) 120 Ohm 1/2 wat power at the last amplifier.
I even made Tester Rs 485. Image

So i found that then I reconect adapter - Armonia firts time see it (by pressing TEST button) (Diod tester OK). then I press second time test - Armonia program writes Error.
I am thinking maybe settngs of Rs485 is not right setted? What parameters i have to set? (Speed and so else...)

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 26th, 2010, 4:25 pm
by MAntos
http://img180.imageshack.us/i/rebusas.png/

Is Vext is used to control AMP's power on/off. How it is used? By Analog signal on Vext ? Maybe it is wrong in wiring to conect in RJ45 Pin 2 to Pin 7 <if I dont use Hub for controling On/Off>?

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 28th, 2010, 1:16 am
by impulse-sound.com
tiziano wrote:I see from the previous picture that amplifiers are branded Martin Audio: which firmware version did you load on them?

Tiziano


Tiziano, the picture from the Martin-Audio branded amplifiers is mine. Not from "MAntos"...

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 28th, 2010, 8:52 am
by tiziano
Oops! True.

Regarding previous posts, the Vext on the connector should be connected to a +9V power supply (range 8V up to 11V) capable of providing at least 1A for each amplifier.

And the 4.0.2-2000 firmware version should work ok (but: where did you read Version: 3.26.3???) although tha latest and improved version is the 4.1.2-2004.

Bye

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 28th, 2010, 9:56 am
by ThomasM
MAntos, here are a couple of links to user manuals and other documentation. It might make good sense to study these as they contain information about setup, communication, and use, certainly helping you to avoid a lot of "try & error".

If you have these already and read them, others might still benefit from this list:

K Series amplifiers user manual: http://www.powersoft-audio.com/download_get.php?obj=329
K-DSP user manual: http://www.powersoft-audio.com/download_get.php?obj=814
Armonía user manual: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=101
RJ45 wiring for RS-485: http://www.powersoft-audio.com/download ... p?obj=1062
K Series firmware upgrade package incl 'how to' guide: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=84

Cheers,
Thomas

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 28th, 2010, 4:27 pm
by impulse-sound.com
tiziano wrote:Oops! True.

Regarding previous posts, the Vext on the connector should be connected to a +9V power supply (range 8V up to 11V) capable of providing at least 1A for each amplifier.

And the 4.0.2-2000 firmware version should work ok (but: where did you read Version: 3.26.3???) although tha latest and improved version is the 4.1.2-2004.

Bye


8V up to 11V? Some time ago, someone told me it was 12V....

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: July 28th, 2010, 4:40 pm
by tiziano
The nominal reccomended value is 9V. 12V can be tolerated, but it is better to use a lower voltage if possible.

Bye.

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: September 20th, 2010, 8:09 pm
by netkol
For all of the people that alreay tried to work wireless without the K Network's card.
I'm working with K series using RS485 Wireless...
all is working properly except that the on-line information that comming
from the pre amp are slow.

Is anyone worked wireless with the RS485?

Thanks
Yair

Re: K series RS485 port

PostPosted: October 4th, 2010, 2:09 pm
by impulse-sound.com
Yes, I have done it.
but don't forget that using the RS-485 port, you will loose some speed, the VU meters won't be visible, and it will be a bit slower in all the rest.

What do you mean by online information?
All real-time information will be very slow, because of the speed of RS-485.